Kulai town was upgraded to a district on 1 January 2008 and has been renamed as Kulaijaya District. Kulaijaya District is one of the ten district in the state of Johor in peninsular Malaysia, the other nine districts were Johor Bahru, Muar, Segamat, Batu Pahat, Kluang, Mersing, Kota Tinggi, Pontian and Ledang.

Kulai Municipal Council (Malay: Majlis Perbandaran Kulai (MPKu)) is the local authority in Kulaijaya District of Johor, Malaysia. It was formerly known as Kulai District Council (Majlis Daerah Kulai (MDK)). The council has been established since 18 September 2004.

Kulaijaya District covers Bukit Batu, Ayer Bemban, Sedenak, Kelapa Sawit, Sengkang, Kulai Town, Saleng, Senai and Seelong. Kulai has the biggest Chinese population in Johor, it is around 69%.

Kulaijaya is also within the Iskandar Economic Zone (Iskandar Malaysia) where covers an area of 2217 square kilometers. It have a very good development advantages, especially in the transportation, information technology, high-tech industry, education, business, property and other industries.

The city is 29 km from the city of Johor Bahru, 8 km from Skudai. Kulai is a major scale in the Johor Bahru-Kuala Lumpur highway in the 1970s and 1980s until the North-South Freeway opened in 1994, that outside the city. It also has a small railway station operated by the Malayan Railway in Kulai Town, Senai and Sedenak.

The city is accessible by road via the North-South Highway and the old road, rail operated by Malayan Railway (KTM) and by air via the Senai International Airport. Senai International Airport is also located in Senai, a strategic location within Kulaijaya District.